If imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, the Coen Brothers should be blushing over Henrik Ruben Genz's "Terribly Happy," a darkly comic Danish thriller in the vein of "Blood Simple" and "No Country for Old Men."

If imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, the Coen Brothers should be blushing over Henrik Ruben Genz's "Terribly Happy," a darkly comic Danish thriller in the vein of "Blood Simple" and "No Country for Old Men."

When a Copenhagen cop is reassigned to a rural village, he quickly learns people in these parts don't take kindly to strangers. Well, except for the flirtatious wife of the town's resident thug, who takes a little too kindly to him, resulting in an ever-unraveling series of unfortunate events.

"Terribly Happy" milks the Coens' knack for sending a film's hero into a downward spiral in a town that's part Wild West, part Twin Peaks. It even shares the gorgeous visual style of "No Country." Yeah, it's derivative, but noir fans should definitely take note.