Also: New music from Atoms for Peace, Broadcast, Ill Bill and more.

Earl Sweatshirt - "Chum"

Since returning from exile in Samoa, Odd Future's prodigious prodigal son has been letting new material seep out slowly. No confirmation of a new album yet, but "Chum" does nothing to dissuade me from believing Earl's next LP will be a monster whenever he does decide to unveil it.

The Evens - "King of Kings"

This is not a Christmas song, it's just the first single from The Odds, Ian MacKaye and Amy Farina's latest batch of thoughtful, bare-bones rock excursions as The Evens. The album drops Nov. 20 via (duh) Dischord. Hear "King of Kings" at Pitchfork.

The Shins - "Wonderful Christmastime"

This, however, is a Christmas song. And while I found The Shins' show at the LC practically somnambulent, the band's run through this particularly holiday classic is stupendously peppy. I'm surprised how much I like it, but maybe because the annual deluge of Christmas music has only begun. This track hails from Starbucks' Holidays Rule compilation, out this week on the coffee giant's Hear Music label.

Code Orange Kids - "Flowermouth (The Leech)"

We leap from a Christmas song by The Shins on a Starbucks compilation to bone crusher from Pittsburgh post-hardcore monster Code Orange Kids (who, it should be noted, perform regularly at Columbus DIY shows). On Nov. 20, Converge frontman Jacob Bannon's label Deathwish, Inc. will release the Kids' album Love Is Love // Return To Dust, produced by Bannon's Converge bandmate Kurt Ballou. You can stream the whole album at Brooklyn Vegan, and you should.

Atoms for Peace - "What the Eyeballs Did"

We already heard the A-side from Thom Yorke and company's new 12-inch single, out Nov. 19 on XL. Here's the B-side, a rhythmic and atmospheric wonder called "What the Eyeballs Did."

Ill Bill featuring El-P - "Severed Heads of State"

I wasn't that deep into underground rap when Ill Bill's former group, Non Phixion, was a big deal, but I can certainly appreciate his turn here with fellow nasal ex-backpacker El-P. Bill's new album The Grimy Awards is coming Jan. 29 on Uncle Howie.

Saint Rich - "Sorry/Sadly"

Saint Rich is another project featuring Delicate Steve main man Steve Marion. With "Sorry/Sadly," he takes on a sunlight-drenched guitar-rock persona that would fit right in on QFM96.

Esben and the Witch - "Deathwaltz"

Every time I listen to this song, I think my desk phone is ringing, but it's not. Positive experience otherwise. Esben's next Matador release, Wash the Sins Not Only the Face, is out Jan. 21.

Broadcast - "The Equestrian Vortex"

Although Broadcast's Trish Keenan died last year, bassist James Cargill is keeping the project alive. He's working on a new album that will feature Keenan posthumously, and his soundtrack to the film Berberian Sound Studio is coming out Jan. 8. Here you'll find the title sequence set to the suitably eerie instrumental "Equestrian Vortex."

Will Smith freestyles while Doug E. Fresh beatboxes

If your weekend is this fun, be happy about your life.