The nice thing about giving comics for the holidays is that, like music, there is literally something for everybody. A quick trip to Laughing Ogre or Packrat Comics could well sew up everyone on your entire gift list! Here are some graphic novel and comic book choices with a distinctly Arch City spin to them.

The nice thing about giving comics for the holidays is that, like music, there is literally something for everybody. A quick trip to Laughing Ogre or Packrat Comics could well sew up everyone on your entire gift list! Here are some graphic novel and comic book choices with a distinctly Arch City spin to them.

Spitball: A CCAD Comics Anthology

The inaugural Spitball Anthology is a collection of stories illustrated, edited, published and distributed by CCAD students. Each story is written by an established comic pro. Get in on the ground floor of what should become one the most anticipated Columbus comics publications every year. ccadillustration.bigcartel.com

Persia Blues Volume 1&2

Local comic veterans writer Dara Naraghi and artist Brent Bowman are two volumes into a terrific trilogy that's equal parts modern coming of age story and classic fantasy adventure. Both volumes are in print and available. persiablues.com

"How To be Happy"

Eleanor Davis is the latest award-winning cartoonist to be selected for a residency in Columbus by the Thurber House and Columbus Museum of Art. Head on down to the museum to see an exhibit of Eleanor's work and pick up a copy of her graphic novel "How To be Happy" at the gift shop, or order it through her publisher, Fantagraphics. fantagraphics.com/howtobehappy

"Trashed"

OSU Alum Derf Backderf's semi-autobiographical graphic novel is both an ode to the blue collar worker and a cautionary tale about conspicuous consumption. Its 256 pages effectively combine Derf's real-life experience as a sanitation worker in Northern Ohio with snark and gross-out humor for a compelling narrative. abramsbooks.com

Work by Sketch in the City artists

Since May 2014, over a dozen local cartoonists and comic artists have graced the pages Columbus Alive in the Sketch in the City column, and I believe all of them have some sort of printed volume of their work for sale! Go ask for your favorite SITC artist's work at a shop that supports local comics like Laughing Ogre or Kafe Kerouac. Laughing Ogre, 4258 N. High St., Clintonville, 614-267-6473,laughingogrecomics.com; Kafe Kerouac, 2250 N. High St., Campus, 614-299-2672,kafekerouac.com