Jams of the Week: David Byrne + St. Vincent, MMG + Kendrick Lamar, Superchunk gets summery

Staff Writer
Columbus Alive

Last week's top new jams, preserved for you.

David Byrne & St. Vincent - "Who"

As someone who has been wowed by both of these performers on record and on stage, this collaborative album by David Byrne and St. Vincent should be huge news for me. But as someone who doesn't have much use for Byrne's post-Talking Heads solo work, I am not sure how to feel about this first single. It sounds like a Byrne song with some Annie Clark sprucing around the edges; I wonder if some of the other songs sounds more like Clark jams with Byrne's window dressing, which would be more appetizing to these ears.

Maybach Music Group featuring Kendrick Lamar - "Power Circle"

They make you wait for Kendrick, but he's worth waiting for - or just skipping ahead for. Honestly though, the first 6:53 of this track is highly enjoyable too. Even if Rozay is in coast mode here, the rest of his Maybach steeds flex to the best of their abilities on "Power Circle." Also of note: Ohio MMG delegate Stalley got the Lex Luger treatment this week.

Superchunk - "This Summer"

In which the resurgent, Tin Armor- and Kyle Sowash-inspiring indie veterans unleash a can't-miss seasonal anthem.

Joey BADA$$ & Capital STEEZ - "Survival Tactics"

Having trouble keeping up with the hip-hop hype cycle? The ascendant NYC rapper of the week is Joey BADA$$, a Nas-influenced lyrical wizard whose "1999" mixtape is a whole lotta fun.

Justin Bieber featuring Drake - "Right Here"

This splits the difference between the radio-dominating Drizzy-Breezy wheelhouse and Lou Pearlman's boy band factory circa 1998. Also, Bieber "wants to put it on you if you want to."

Poolside - "Slow Down"

They sure got the title right. "Slow Down" is gauzy, gooey and hot without ever sounding messy.

Heavenly Beat - "Tradition"

In contrast, here's the lightest, airiest song I've heard this summer. It comes from Beach Fossils' John Peña, whose album is coming July 24 on Captured Tracks. RIYL: Architecture in Helsinki, Broken Social Scene.

Passion Pit - "I'll Be Alright"

Here we have the second single from Passion Pit's sophomore set "Gossamer," coming July 24 on Columbia.

Dirty Projectors - "Dance For You"

And from another anticipated follow-up, Dirty Projectors' "Swing Lo Magellan," comes this paean to seeking transcendence through creation. The band will play the Wexner Center on July 12, two days after the record comes out on Domino.

Mount Eerie - "Pale Lights" (excerpt)

Mount Eerie already released one intriguing record this year, "Clear Moon," but Phil Elverum's project has another LP on the way called "Ocean Roar." This snippet from what's apparently a very long song shows this second offering of 2012 has a lot of promise too. It's coming Sept. 4 via Elverum's label P.W. Elverum and Sun.