Divine Fits announce album title, tracklist, release date

Staff Writer
Columbus Alive

Divine Fits, the highly accomplished trio of Spoon's Britt Daniel, Wolf Parade's Dan Boeckner and Columbus drums MVP Sam Brown, just announced the details of their debut album. It's called "A Thing Called Divine Fits," and it comes out August 28 on Merge. That's the cover art above. Lead single/opening track "My Love Is Real" is now streaming at Soundcloud, and the rest of the tracklist is below. Still no tour dates announced, but the band "(has) been hard at work planning things to do over the next year," and considering Brown's residence here and Spoon's frequent visits, how can they not come to Columbus?

Full tracklist:

1. My Love Is Real

2. Flaggin a Ride

3. What Gets You Alone

4. Would That Not Be Nice

5. The Salton Sea

6. Baby Get Worse

7. Civilian Stripes

8. For Your Heart

9. Shivers

10. Like Ice Cream

11. Neopolitans

The band also posted some comments about the album on their website, which read: "'A Thing Called Divine Fits' was made with much excitement and energy from March through May (minus a few weeks off for research) in a backyard studio in Los Angeles. What else can we tell you. . .we co-produced it with Nick Launay. It's about 42-and-a-half minutes long. Alex Fischel plays keyboards like a madman all over it. (Roughly) half the tracks are lead-sung by Dan and half by Britt. Over the course of its 11 songs it covers such topics as the death of true love, hitchhiking, cocoa butter, emotional distance, what happens when the curtain drops, and Minneapolis, MN. We think it's truly pretty great."